Individual Artist Award 2020 Poster

The Rasmuson Foundation is accepting applications for the 2020 Individual Artist Awards (IAA). Applications will be accepted through March 2.

In addition to individual artists, groups and collaboratives — two or more artists working together — for the first time will be eligible for project awards and fellowships. A musical band, a dance company and a multimedia collective are some examples.

The awards support artistic growth and exploration of new creative ground for artists living and working in Alaska. In 2019, award recipients came from 18 different communities including Chevak, Nome, Big Lake, McCarthy, Sitka and Wrangell as well as Anchorage, Fairbanks and Juneau.

The Foundation recruits a panel of experts in the arts from across the country to review applications and ultimately select 10 fellows and 25 project award recipients.

Artists can apply at for either a project award or a fellowship.

Artists with questions can email staff at or call the foundation at (907) 297-2700. 

Through grantmaking and initiatives, Rasmuson Foundation aims to promote a better life for all Alaskans. Main funding areas are housing, health care, arts, culture and humanities, recreation and organizational and community development. The Foundation was created in 1955 by Jenny Rasmuson to honor her late husband, E.A. Rasmuson.