Election Results

After a final tally of all votes in Tuesday’s municipal election, incumbent Council Member John Osenga led the race for the two open council seats on the ballot with 205, a 41-vote lead over Michael Calhoon, leader for the second seat with 164 votes. Only 28 votes behind Calhoon, Randy Wells received 136 votes, and 24 ballots were cast for Libertarian candidate Leighton Radner. Though Osenga is expected to win re-election in a final official count, 108 absentee ballots have yet to be counted, enough to swing the race for second to either Calhoon or Wells. In speaking to the Journal Tuesday night following the returns, Osenga remained hopeful of re-election.

“There’s still some ballots out there,” he said, “but I’m cautiously optimistic.”

Approved regardless of the absentee count was Proposition 1, renewing the city’s franchise agreement with Alaska Waste for the collection and disposal of garbage and refuse.

At the time of this writing, challenger Cindy Ecklund was leading incumbent Kenn Carpenter in the Borough Assembly Eastern Peninsual seat race, though not all polling areas had reported. Seat B of the Seward Bear Creek Flood Service Area Board will be awarded to Bob Reisner, who was running uncontested. Also uncontested, Daniel Logan won Bear Creek Fire Service Area Board Seat D.

The Canvass Board will convene on Thursday, October 7 at 1 p.m. in council chambers to tally the remaining ballots for City Council. Official results will be expected thereafter.