American Legion Sewad Post

The American Legion Seward Post 5 Family had their officer elections for the new officers recently. These new officers are chartered to move their respective organizations forward in service for the 2020-2021 membership year and to continue in service to veterans, their families and the Seward community. 

Toward the end of the month, the post will have an Installation Dinner for the official placement of the officers in their offices, provided it is not cancelled due to the Coronavirus. The dinner will be open to all members of our Seward Post 5 American Legion Family. Each organization will have an “installing” officer who is/was in a position at the post, state and/or national level. The installation of a new group of officers is the first occasion of the new Legion year for a celebration of the new officers and it is and one of the top social events on the organization’s calendar. As is customary, the installation is accompanied by a banquet, visits from Department of Alaska of the American Legion state level officials, and local dignitaries and leaders in the community. The event instills in all who attend the importance of the roles being assumed by the new officers.

Generally, the installing officers speak about the American Legion, the American Legion Auxiliary, the Sons of the American Legion and the American Legion Riders with respect to their importance in our American culture and how important each one is at the local level. The emphasis is on the local level because it is the grassroots of the national organization and where the hometown mission of helping our veterans happens. 

The officers for each of American Legion Seward Post 5 Family organizations for the 2020-2021 year are:

American Legion Seward Post 5: Commander & Historian, Clare Sullivan; 1st Vice Commander, Bobby Dunno; 2nd Vice Commander & Adjutant, Mike Calhoon; Service Officer & Judge Advocate, John Moline; Chaplain, Father William Hanrahan; Sergeant-at-Arms, David Joslin; Members at Large, Daniel Oliver, David Squires, and Blaine Sears.

American Legion Auxiliary Unit 5: President, Debbie VanTassel; 1st Vice President, Michelle Oliver; Secretary, Lori Skaggs; Treasurer, Susan St. Amand; Executive Board, Joanne Frey and LaNno Settles.

Sons of the American Legion Squadron 5: Commander, Mike Mooter; 1st Vice Commander & Adjutant, Michael Calhoon; 2nd Vice Commander, Scott Wilde; Finance, David Dieckgraeff; Historian & Sergeant-at-Arms, David Osborn; Chaplain, Randy Kockritz

American Legion Riders Chapter 5: Director, Bobby Dunno; Assistant Director, Larry Gentry; Secretary, Debra Dunno; Treasurer, Michael Calhoon; Sergeant-at-Arms, Terry Moon; Historian, Clare Sullivan; Chaplain, Larry Gentry.